Daily Yacht Boat News
Ads Block Yacht Boat News
Berntsson Wins Ficker Cup

Berntsson Wins Ficker Cup

Johnie Berntsson (SWE) defeated Scott Dickson (USA) to win the Ficker Cup. By reaching the Finals, both teams advance to the Congressional Cup which begins April 6.

The Congressional Cup features five days of yacht racing at its finest, with the top World Sailing-ranked skippers vying for the esteemed Crimson Blazer – an honor bestowed to sailing icons like Dennis Conner, Dean Barker, Ken Read, Ted Turner, Taylor Canfield and more.

Founded in 1965 and pioneering the concept of on-the-water umpiring, The Congressional Cup is regarded as the ‘granddaddy of match racing’ and is part of the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT). Berntsson Wins Ficker CupThis intense round-the-world circuit kicked off early March in Fremantle, Australia, and concludes in July in Marstrand, Sweden; where one lucky sailor will earn a sizeable purse and bragging rights – as the number one skipper at the pinnacle of the sailing game. thecongressionalcup.com

The Ficker Cup Presented by Porsche is a highly regarded World Sailing Grade Two and WMRT event, established by LBYC in 1980 to honor Bill Ficker, winning skipper of the 1970 America’s Cup and Star boat champion. Etched on the trophy are the names of sailing greats like John Kostecki, Scott Dickson and Sally Barkow; plus Terry Hutchinson and Simone Ferrarese – both of whom went on to win the Congressional Cup in subsequent years.

more info … lbyc.org

by sailingscuttlebutt.com

About YachtBoatNews