Daily Yacht Boat News
Ads Block Yacht Boat News
2015 NSSA Youth Regatta – Midlands sailors shine
NSSA Regatta - 2015 National School Sailing Association Youth RegattaNSSA

NSSA Youth Regatta 2015 – Midlands sailors shine

National School Sailing Association Youth Regatta 2015 – More than two years of planning by the Leicestershire and Rutland Youth Sailing Association (LRYSA) powered by over 150 volunteers came to fruition as Rutland SC successfully hosted the regatta at the end of July.

With planning headed by Colin Magee, LRYSA Chair, Becky Sharpe, and Fiona Caton from the LRYSA, some 282 boats from 21 teams from all over the UK took part between Sunday 26 July and Friday 31 July, with Kent winning the overall ASSF Team Trophy.

The host team enjoyed a successful event, maintaining high positions in all of the five fleets. Jamie Tylecote won the Rookie Fleet Trophy and was awarded the Plymouth Salver for Best U12 Helm, while his brother Ben claimed the East Kent Yachting Assn Shield as winner of an all-comers race. James Beal also won two trophies, The President’s Trophy for best Leicestershire Sailor and a medal from the Topper fleet.

Meanwhile, the award of the week went to Tom Evans, captain of the Leicestershire Team, from Kirby Muxloe. On coming ashore Radial sailor Tom discovered in the confusion of a windy day, he had been placed in first position.

Despite the enthusiasm of his teammates, Tom instantly said this could not be correct and of his own accord went to the Race Office to inform them of the problem. For this action Tom was awarded the Silver Jubilee Sportsmanship Award.

Across the rest of the Midlands, Ed Slack (Northants) won the Surrey Cup as top Laser Standard, Seb Andrews was awarded the Worcestershire Trophy for top contribution from a WSSCA sailor, Ellie Craig (Radial) took home the Derbyshire Bell as her county’s leading sailor.

Meanwhile, Joe Xia and Holly Boalch (Worcs) and Will Slack and Connie Hughes (Northants) were selected to attend a Hi-Fliers Race training course at the Andrew Simpson Sailing Foundation centre at Weymouth. This was awarded to 12 young people with the potential to improve their performance and would benefit from a race training course.

Rob Mallett (Worcs) and Edward Slack (Northants) also took home Presidents Awards for awarded on the recommendation of their local association for making an exceptional contribution to their activities.

During the week there were over 2,750 individual results, 60 sail number changes and 120 race queries. Over 2,500 packed lunches were distributed during the week.

The Presentation of prizes took place at the Rutland Agricultural Showground in the presence of Councillor Baines, Vice Chair of Rutland County Council and Councillor Liquorice, Vice Chairman of Leicestershire County Council. Prizes were presented by The Hon Lord Lieutenant of Rutland Dr Laurence Howard CBE.

Special NSSA Prizes and Trophies
ASSF Team Trophy  Best Overall Performance by a Local Association  Kent
 Mount Haes Trophy  Winner of a special event for doublehanders  Toby Freeland and George Hyett – Kent
 Singlehander Trophy  Winner of a special race for singlehanders  Lewis Humphreys – Kent
 East Kent Yachting Assn Shield  Winner of an all-comers race  Ben Tylecote – Rutland
 The Felixstowe Salver  Best Under 14 Helm  Heather Denbigh – Kent
 Plymouth Salver  Best Under 12 Helm  Jamie Tylecote – Rutland
 Northampton Trophy  Best Female Performance  Heather Denbigh – Kent
 Leapfrog Trophy  Most improved Topper over previous year  Catherine Wynn – Kent
 Baroness Pratt of Writtle Seamanship Award Sailing a Feva they went to the aid of a turtled Tera. Maintaining control of their own boat, they righted the Tera and made sure the helm was OK before returning to their race. A great display of seamanship  Pierce Harris and Alfie Cogger
 Silver Jubilee Trophy  On coming ashore he discovered that, in the confusion of a windy first day, he had been placed in first position. Despite the enthusiasm of his team mates, Tom instantly said that this could not be correct and of his own accord went to the Race Office to inform them of the problem  Tom Evans – LRYSA
 Nuclear Electric Trophy  As Beach Master and Main Medic she was running around all week keeping everyone happy and maintaining a cheerlul disposition all week  Vicky Blackmore
 High Fliers Award  A training course at the ASSF Centre in Weymouth it is awarded to young people who have the potential to improve their performance and would benefit from a race training course.  Joseph Dormer (QM), Ben Thompson (ASSF), Chris Haslam (Norfolk), Owen O’Donnel (Cumbria), Max Oscroft (Cambs) William Russell (Cambs), Ryan Winter (Kent), Joe Xia (Worcs), Will Slack (Northants), Rebekah Nash (Oxon), Abigail Clarke (Cambs), Holly Boalch (Worcs), Isabel Abbatt (Cumbria), Josie Baher (Plymouth), Naomi Wickens (Oxon), Isabel Hopkins (Lancs), Connie Hughes (Northants), Hannah Mumford (Kent)
 Presidents Award  Awarded to Young People, on the recommendation of their local association, for making an exceptional contribution to their local activities.  John Christopher (Plymouth), Rob Mallet (Worcs), Simon George (MK and BYSA), Sarah Alcock (Cambs), Charlotte Bonham (Norfolk), Lucy Clarke (Norfolk)Reserves:- Edward Slack (Northants), Julia Judd (Kent)


Series  Trophy Winners
The Surrey Cup  Laser Standard  Ed Slack – Northants
 Laser Radial Trophy  Laser Radial  Iona Dixon – QMSC
 Moores of Wroxham Salver  Laser 4.7  Ethan Leahy – Cumbria
 The Topper Trophy  Heather Denham – Kent
 The Ellis Trophy  Fast Handicap  Cameron Tweedle – Oxon
 The White Cup  Slow Handicap  Jack Berry – Essex and Suffolk
 The Rapide Trophy  Feva Fleet  Pierce Harris – Cumbria
 Rookie Fleet Trophy  Rookie Handicap Fleet  Jamie Tylecote – Rutland
 Fordingbridge Trophy  Rookie Topper Fleet  Kate Brady – Plymouth

Local Association Prizes

 Hunts Trophy  Team Contribution from a Cambridgeshire Sailor  Tom Proctor and Henry Hutchinson
 Presidents Trophy (Leics)  Sailor of the week from L and RYSA  James Beal
 Worcestershire Trophy  Contribution to team from Worcs  Seb Andrews
 Bassenthwaite Trophy  Outstanding contribution to Cumbria Team  Holly Monk and Emily Ingham
 Devon Youth Trophy  Outstanding Performance from a Plymouth sailor  Charlie Post
 Winchester Tankard  Kent sailor showing outstanding Endeavour  Lily May – Rookie Topper
 MK and Bucks Trophy  Leading boat from MK and Bucks  Jack Bryant
 Norfolk Half Model  Best Performance by a Norfolk Sailor  Emily Haslam – Topper
West Sussex Trophy  Leading West Sussex Boat  Angus Kirk – Comet
 The Derbyshire Bell  Leading Derbyshire Boat  Eleanor Craig – Radial
 Henri Lloyd Trophy  Best placed Lancashire Boat – under 16 yrs  Jonny Latham
 Datchet Keeper  Best Datchet sailor  James and Will Taylor


About YachtBoatNews