Daily Yacht Boat News
Qualification System for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series released
Peter Burling and Blair Tuke - SWC - Hyeres Sailing Energy/World Sailing

Qualification Sailing World Cup Series 2017

The qualification system for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series, the pinnacle series of Olympic class racing, has been published.

The 2017 Sailing World Cup Series will consist of two Rounds for all 10 Olympic Events plus, when possible, a Paralympic One Person Event. The Series will culminate with a Final in Europe.

Click here to view the Qualification System.

Miami will host the first Round of the upcoming 2017 Series from 22-29 January 2017 with Hyeres, France following from 23-30 April 2017. A European Final will conclude the shortened series in late June / early July.

Sailors attending the 2016 Sailing World Cup Final in Melbourne, Australia will automatically qualify for 2017 series with the remaining places awarded based on the World Sailing Rankings.

The Rio 2016 Olympic medallists will automatically qualify for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Final and they will be joined by winners of the Sailing World Cup Miami and Hyeres Rounds. For the remaining places, qualification to the Final will be based on combined results at the Sailing World Cup Rounds, with the highest placed finishers booking their spot on the start line.

Sailor invitations for the 2017 Sailing World Cup Series will be sent out on Monday 10 October.

2017 Sailing World Cup Series

• Miami, USA – 22-29 January 2017
• Hyeres, France – 22-30 April 2017
• European Final, venue TBD – late June/ early July

After the shortened 2017 series, the Sailing World Cup series will run from October to July every year, incorporating three Rounds and a European Final at the end of June / early July.

Japan will host a Sailing World Cup Round each October from 2017 through to 2019 before holding the Final in July 2020, just weeks before the Olympic Games. Qualification regattas for the 2017/18 season will be announced by the end of October 2016.

2017 – 2020 Sailing World Cup Series of events

• 2017/18: Japan (October 2017), Miami (January 2018), Hyeres (May 2018) + European Final
• 2018/19: Japan (October 2018), Miami (January 2019), Europe Round (May-June) + European Final
• 2019/20: Japan (October 2019), Miami, (January 2020) Europe Round (May-June) + Japan Final (July 2020)

by Daniel Smith – World Sailing

About YachtBoatNews