Daily Yacht Boat News

Snipe World Championship 2015

The constellations of Spain and Argentina continue to shine brightly at the Snipe World Championship underway in Talamone Tuscany organized by the Circolo della Vela Talamone. After six races and one discard, Luis Soubie–Diego Lipszyc (ARG) are in the lead with 26 points (four – six – eight – three – (eleven) – five). However, four teams follow in a two-point range, so expect some serious on the course jostling on Friday! Second, Alvaro Martinez-Gabriel Utera (ESP) at 43 points. (sixteen – (eighty-four OCS) – fifteen – six – five – one), Belgian Manu Hens-Victor Perez Campos are third, also with 43 points. Augie Diaz – Kathleen Tocke (USA) are in fourth position at 43 points whereas Mateus Tavares-Gustavo Carvalho (BRA) are in fifth place at 44 points.

Hard day on the water for the Race Committee, chaired by Fabio Barasso. Due to the wind shifts that oscillated between northerly Tramontana in the morning and northwesterly Mistral that could not settle in the afternoon, only one race was completed.

“The Race Committee did a commendable job today under very trying conditions. The wind was not only oscillating 10-20 degrees, but also changing in velocity during the race from 10-20 knot puffs. After several attempts for a second race, it was decided to postpone to ensure the sailors would all have better conditions tomorrow”, stated Jerelyn Biehl, Executive Director of SCIRA (Snipe Class International Racing Association. “Argentinian Luis Soubie and Diego Lipszyc are sailing well and consistently. With the first discard counted, there is a three-way tie for second and with all chances for more races, a second discard, which will keep things interesting”, Biehl added.

We came here to race as well as we possibly can and must be able to handle every situation,’ stated Luis Soubie back on the dock. “Today the wind was very unstable and it was not easy to handle. I believe that the Committee made the right decision by abandoning races that could have been distorted by excessive wind shifts. We have a good lead and the Spaniards who won today could close the gap. We must continue to be focused: the championship is long and there are many races to complete.

Best among the Italian crews, Franco Solerio (YC Sanremo) and Paolo Lambertenghi (CV Torbole), 12th overall after discarding today’s 33rd place.

After racing, the SCIRA Board of Governors met to determine future championships at the Club House of the Club Velico Talamone and to examine several proposals on race management for future events. “As several of the Board members are competing, this could be a long day for them, but it is important to have top sailors on the Board to make the right decisions for the class and fellow sailors,” explained Jerelyn Biehl.

In the evening, participants and residents enjoyed a jazz free concert ‘Saxophone Colours – from Paris to Buenos Aires’ organized by the Associazione Culturale Kaletra, featuring the duo formed by saxophonist David Vallini and pianist Giuliano Adorno.

2015 Snipe World Championship - Three races for final day

Day 4 Fleet – 2015 Snipe World Championship Matias Capizzano ©

The World Snipe continues tomorrow with the possibility of completing up to three races. The warning signal for Race seven is scheduled for Friday 25 September at 11 a.m.

On the starting line: Argentina (seven teams), Belgium (six), Brazil (nine), Columbia (one), Croatia (one), Denmark (one) Ecuador (two), Finland (one), France (two), Great Britain (one), Japan (seven), Norway (two), Poland (three), Spain (twelve), Sweden (two), United States (nine) and Uruguay (one). Italy is represented by 16 crews in the Snipe World Championship.

The Race Committee is formed by: Fabio Barrasso (President), Andrea Bimbi, Bruno Iazzetta, Giovanni Capitani, Alessandro Testa, Filippo Soffici and Fabio Andreuccetti. The International Jury is formed by: Tullio Giraldi (President), Licio Bruno Marques, Sergey Kuzovov, Charles Perry and Marco Cimarosti. The SCIRA representatives are Riccardo Lobato and Gweneth Cook. The Chief Measurer is Antonio Espada.

The Race Committee shall attempt to complete 11 races. No more than three races shall be sailed per day. On the last day of the regatta, no warning signal will be made after 3.30 pm. Three races are required to be completed to constitute a series. When fewer than six races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores. When from six to eight races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score. When nine or more races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her two worst scores.

Prizes shall be awarded to the skipper and crew for the top 10 places. The Commodore Hub E.Isaacks perpetual trophy shall be awarded to the fleet of the winning skipper. The O’Leary Trophy shall be awarded to the crew winning the World Championship. The Earl Elms Perpetual Trophy shall be awarded to the winning skipper of the final race of the World Championship. Prizes will be presented to the best scorer of each day of races. A special prize drawing will take place during the Awards Ceremony. Only crews who are present at the Awards Ceremony will be entered into the prize drawing.

by Tessa Wiechmann

About YachtBoatNews