Daily Yacht Boat News
2015 Snipe World Championship - Final day
Day 6 FleetMatias Capizzano ©

Snipe World Championship 2015

The Snipe World Championship organized by the Circolo della Vela Talamone is drawing to a close in Tuscany. With a very tight leaderboard, the final day of racing on Saturday 26 September will be crucial to determine the 2015 World Champion.

In the morning, competitors were surprised to find the cutting-edge and brand-new Frigate “Virginio Fasan” of the Italian Navy in Snipe Bay. The 144 meter long and 6700 ton displacement frigate dropped anchor in front of the Circolo della Vela Talamone at 7 a.m. to pay tribute to the 83 crews from 18 nations.

Admiral Sergio Biraghi, former Chief of Staff of the Italian Navy and Commodore of the CV Talamone, led a delegation of race officials, international judges and representatives of the Snipe class on board the Virginio Fasan. Following the tribute to the flag ceremony, Captain Giancarlo Ciappina, Commander of Virginio Fasan, explained the inner workings of the ship to the international delegation. ‘Our motto in aleis strenua, in pugna invicta means tenacious in adversities, invincible at war”, explained Commander Ciappina. “The Virginio Fasan, however has played an active role in the Mare Nostrum Operation and continues to be actively involved in rescuing migrants in the Mediterranean Sea” he concluded. (In the photo: the pacifier of a child born on one of the migrant boats then saved by ITS Virginio Fasan).

Deputy United Nations Secretary General Jan Eliasson, veteran diplomat and former officer in the Swedish Navy, in an interview recently stated “The Italian Navy deserves the Nobel Peace Prize. Its men and women have exalted the highest human values in the best tradition of the Navy. As an experienced seaman, I am really proud.”

Back to the races though. Yet another hard day on the water for the Race Committee, chaired by Fabio Barasso who managed racing in accordance with the Snipe class rules. On the water, wind shifted between northwesterly Mistral in the morning and northeasterly Grecale in the afternoon. The Race Committee attempted to start several races, but the fleet stormed the line over and over again resulting in numerous general recalls. Notwithstanding the sunny skies, flat seas and nice breeze, only one race was completed.

2015 Snipe World Championship - Final day

Day 6 FleetMatias Capizzano ©

Former Snipe World Champion Alexandre Tinoco won Race seven. Tinoco-Grael (BRA) led the first three legs of the windward-leeward course but was rolled by Tavares-Carvalho (BRA) on the second downwind leg. A wind shift to the right in the last upwind leg allowed him to make up the distance and take the lead once again, crossing the finish line ahead of Jordi Triay-Luis Barcelo (ESP) and Raul de Valenzuela-Alejandre de Ona, third.

In the provisional overall standings after seven races and one discard, Louis Soubie-Diego Lipszyc (ARG) are still in the lead with 12 point margin (four-six-eight-three-eleven-five-(twenty-two)) on Mateus Tavares-Gustavo Carvalho (BRA) at 49 points (five-eleven-(thirty-three)-sixteen-three-nine-five). Third, Manu Hens-Victor Perez Campos (BEL) with 50 points nine – two-(Twenty-five)-ten-nineteen – three – seven) and in fourth place Alvaro Martinez-Gabriel Utrera (ESP) at fifty-one (sixteen – (eighty-four OCS)-fifteen – six – five – one – eight).

On the starting line: Argentina (seven teams), Belgium (six), Brazil (nine), Columbia (one), Croatia (one), Denmark (one) Ecuador (two), Finland (one), France (two), Great Britain (one), Japan (seven), Norway (two), Poland (three), Spain (twelve), Sweden (two), United States (nine) and Uruguay (one). Italy is represented by 16 crews in the Snipe World Championship.

The Race Committee is formed by: Fabio Barrasso (President), Andrea Bimbi, Bruno Iazzetta, Giovanni Capitani, Alessandro Testa, Filippo Soffici and Fabio Andreuccetti. The International Jury is formed by: Tullio Giraldi (President), Licio Bruno Marques, Sergey Kuzovov, Charles Perry and Marco Cimarosti. The SCIRA representatives are Riccardo Lobato and Gweneth Cook. The Chief Measurer is Antonio Espada.

2015 Snipe World Championship - Final day

Day 6 FleetMatias Capizzano ©

The Race Committee shall attempt to complete 11 races. No more than three races shall be sailed per day. On the last day of the regatta, no warning signal will be made after 3.30 pm. Three races are required to be completed to constitute a series. When fewer than six races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores. When from six to eight races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score. When nine or more races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her two worst scores.

Prizes shall be awarded to the skipper and crew for the top 10 places. The Commodore Hub E.Isaacks perpetual trophy shall be awarded to the fleet of the winning skipper. The O’Leary Trophy shall be awarded to the crew winning the World Championship. The Earl Elms Perpetual Trophy shall be awarded to the winning skipper of the final race of the World Championship. Prizes will be presented to the best scorer of each day of races. A special prize drawing will take place during the Awards Ceremony. Only crews who are present at the Awards Ceremony will be entered into the prize drawing.


by Tessa Wiechmann

About YachtBoatNews