Daily Yacht Boat News
World Cup places at stake for Team GBR ~ Delta Lloyd Regatta

World Cup places at stake for Team GBR ~ Delta Lloyd Regatta

The British Sailing Team will have 49 athletes taking part in the Delta Lloyd Regatta in Medemblik in the Netherlands next week (26-30 May). The third leg of the EUROSAF Champions Sailing Cup for the Olympic classes is a qualification event for the ISAF Sailing World Cup Weymouth & Portland (8-14 June).

With ten Weymouth qualification places up for grabs in each of the events it is a chance for British entries, including some up and coming talent from British Youth Sailing, to claim a spot in their home Sailing World Cup event.

The Delta Lloyd Regatta has attracted good entries so qualifying via this event will not be easy.

In the Laser with 168 entries, Henry Wetherell and Lorenzo Chiavarini, will want a top ten finish for an invite to Weymouth (23 entries so far). And in the women’s Radial with 89 entries, Rhiannon Massey, Karyna Manuel and Hannah Snellgrove will be striving for a World Cup spot.

The 49er has a strong entry of 39 and British Sailing Team Podium sailors Dylan Fletcher and Alain Sign, will be defending their title form last year. James Peters and Fynn Sterritt, also qualified for Weymouth will be chasing world ranking points.

A team of British Sailing Team Podium Potential sailors will compete in the RS:X which has an entry of 72 in the men and 43 in the women. Joe Bennett and Sam Sills will all be hoping to win themselves a place at Weymouth. Noelle Finch, Emily Hall and Saskia Sills will compete in the RS:X women’s fleet.

Four British teams will race in the Nacra 17 fleet (45 entries), with Podium sailors Ben Saxton-Nicola Groves alongside John Gimson-Hannah Diamond, and Podium Potential sailors Tom Phipps-Nicola Boniface.Delta-Lloyd-Regatta-1

Sophie Weguelin and Eilidh McIntyre finished just outside the 470 medals at the Princess Sofia Regatta in Palma, the first EUROSAF round, and will be pushing hard to finish on the 470 podium this time.

There is an 18 strong fleet for the SKUD18 and Alexandra Rickham and Niki Birrell will be defending their 2014 gold medal. Megan Pascoe, who has won the Delta Lloyd twice in the 2.4mR, is continuing her new challenge in the SKUD with Will Street.

British Sailing Team Entry
49er – Dylan Fletcher-Alain Sign; James Peters-Fynn Sterritt; Rory Hunter-Neil Hunter; Jack Hawkins-Christopher Thomas
49erFX – Anna Burnet-Katie Tomsett, Vikki Payne-Stephanie Orton
470 Women – Sophie Weguelin-Eilidh McIntyre; Amy Seabright-Anna Carpenter
Nacra 17 – John Gimson-Hannah Diamond; Ben Saxton-Nicola Groves; Tom Phipps-Nicola Boniface
Finn – James Hadden
Laser – Alex Mills-Barton, Martin Evans, Elliot Hanson, Lorenzo Chiavarini, Jack Wetherell, Henry Wetherell, Anthony Parke, Harry Blowers
RSX Men – Tom Squires, Joe Bennett, Samuel Sills
RSX Women – Saskia Sills, Noelle Finch
2.4mR –Helena Lucas
SKUD – Alexandra Rickham-Niki Birrell; Sally-Carol Dugdale; Megan Pascoe-Will Street
Sonar – John Robertson, Hannah Stodel-Steve Thomas; Craig Wood, Liam Cattermole-Steven Palmer

by deltalloydregatta.org

About YachtBoatNews