Daily Yacht Boat News

YJA Yachtsman of the Year Awards

Earlier this week, Ian Walker was named boats.com YJA Yachtsman of the Year by the Yachting Journalists’ Association at a prestigious awards ceremony. Eleanor Poole was named boats.com YJA Young Sailor of the Year and famous yachting cartoonist Mike Peyton was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Yachtsman of the Year Award is one of Britain’s most coveted sporting trophies and 2015 marks its Diamond Jubilee. Previous winners include Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, Dame Ellen MacArthur and Sir Ben Ainslie. It’s regarded by many as “the knighthood of yachting” and is awarded by the Yachting Journalists’ Association.

Ian Walker, from Warsash in Hampshire, became the first British skipper to win the Volvo Ocean Race in the event’s 37 year history, when he led Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing to victory in the 2014/15 event.

YJA Yachtsman of the Year Awards

Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing’s skipper Ian Walker celebrate after they arrival in Gothenburg as the winners of the 2014-15 edition of the Volvo Ocean Race.Victor Fraile/Volvo Ocean Race ©

Ian and his team also won the in-port race series and set a 24-hour distance record of an incredible 550.82 nautical miles.

by Yachting Journalists’ Association

About YachtBoatNews