Home / Boat News Races & Regatta / 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta

17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta

Sunny blue skies and wind conditions were in favour of sailing teams at the 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2019 today, with winds between seven and 10 knots, gusting at 17 knots, around the Kuah Bras Habour Course.

Emerging victorious in the Racing Class was non-other than Team Hollywood, skippered by Ray Roberts – at the top spot with a score of two, and the team won both of the races, they participated in.

THA72, skippered by Kevin Whitcraft took on the second spot with a score of 4, while SCS Janda Baik, skippered by Mohd Khairul and Shahril Zakaria, secured the third place with a score of seven.

The top placed sailing team will win the Coveted Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy (Racing class) upon an aggregated of best scores under this category, at the end of the week.

Principal Race Officer of the 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2019, Simon James said good weather for today’s sailing made it possible for two races for all classes except for Ocean Rover/ White Sail.

Tayfun Koksal, Regatta Director and General Manager of the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club said as anticipated, Team Hollywood was a strong challenger in the Racing Class, winning the first two races on the opening day of the regatta.

Day 1 - 2019 Royal Langkawi International Regatta © Andy Leong / RLIR

Day 1 – 2019 Royal Langkawi International Regatta © Andy Leong / RLIR

“Additionally, in the IRC 1, Mata Hari KL Registry managed to fend off Char Chan in both races to become triumphant,” he said, adding this, promises an exciting week of racing ahead.

The 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) 2019 takes place in Kuah, Kedah between 8 and 12 January 2019.

Organised by the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC), the RLIR 2019 saw 35 new entrants and the re-emergence of veteran sailors from 8 countries – Australia, United Kingdom, United States of America, Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, Japan, and Thailand. Malaysia is represented by 19 sailing boats.

Participating teams compete in seven classes such as the Racing Class, IRC 1, IRC 2, Sportsboat, Club Cruising, Multihull, and White Sail.

Trophies and awards include the coveted Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy (Racing Class), the LADA – International Racing Class Challenge Trophy (IRC 1 Class), RLIR – International Racing Class Challenge Trophy (IRC 2 Class), the Commodore’s Challenge Cup (Club Cruising Class), Langkawi Sports Trophy (Sportsboat Class), as well as the Malaysia Multihull Challenge Cup (Multihull Class).

RLIR 2019 is organised in partnership with Tourism Malaysia, the Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia, the Malaysia Sailing Association and the Langkawi Development Authority (LADA).

Results after Day 1:

LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy (IRC 1 class)

    • 1. Mata Hari KL Registry, skippered by Vincent Chan – score of 2
    • 2. Char Chan, skippered by Kazuki Kihara – score of 4
    3. East Marine Emagine, skippered by Scott Noel Bradley – score of 7

RLIR-IRC Challenge Trophy (IRC 2 class)

    • 1. Phoenix, skippered by Niels Degenkolw – score of 2
    • 2. APW Endeavour of Whitby, skippered by Stuart Williamson – score of 5
    3. The Blue Angel, skippered by Jeremy Camps – score of 5

Commodore’s Challenge Cup (Club Cruising class)

    • 1. Marikh, skippered by Hasani Hassan – score of 1
    • 2. YBC Atom, skippered by Tong Jian Quan – score of 2
    3. Sade 2, skippered by Keith Miller – score of 3

Langkawi Sports Trophy (Sportsboat class)

    • 1. RSYC Team, skippered by Rizal Mahadi Sazli – score of 4
    • 2. MSA team, skippered by Muhd Uzzair Amin – score of 4
    3. Navy 1, skippered by Harisfabillah Muhamat – score of 5

Malaysia Multihull Challenge Cup (Multihull class)

    • 1. Fugazi, skippered by Dan Fidock – score of 3
    • 2. Twin Sharks, skippered by John Newnham – score of 3
    3. Allegro, skippered by Bob McIntyre – score of 6

Ocean Rover / White Sail

    • 1. Eveline, skippered Dato’ Richard Curtis – score of 1
    • 2. Chantique, skippered by A’dale Adham Ayahudin – score of 2
    3. Linda, skippered by Woodrow Jack Christensen – score of 4 (DNS)

For more information, kindly visit langkawiregatta.com

by Royal Langkawi Yacht Club

About YachtBoatNews


Check Also

Peter Dubens' North Star has been confirmed as maxi IRC overall winner of the Regata dei Tre Golfi, gaining valuable points towards this year's IMA Maxi European Championship © Rolex / Studio Borlenghi

IMA Maxi European Championship offshore race

With the 26 strong maxi fleet sub-divided into three classes, the remainder ...