Home / Boat News Races & Regatta / Brass Monkey Trophy Race
Leigh-on-Sea SC Brass Monkey Trophy Race © Carole Charles
Leigh-on-Sea SC Brass Monkey Trophy Race © Carole Charles

Brass Monkey Trophy Race

The 2018 Leigh-on-Sea Sailing Club Brass Monkey race took place on Boxing Day as is the tradition.

The trophy, with its three brass monkeys, had at some time unfortunately lost the engraved plaque with the winners’ names which extended back to 1966. By searching through club records most of the names could be found but a few were still missing.

The National Maritime Museum Cornwall was approached and the volunteers there searched through their archive of “Yachts and Yachting” magazines and thankfully were able to fill in most of the remaining spaces. The club happily now has an historical record that includes world champions and Olympians.

The 2018 race attracted 21 boats, 12 from the home club and 10 visitors made the trip to Leigh for the Boxing Day race, unfortunately the wind didn’t get the message that the racers wanted it to blow. Some of the fleet managed to find a little wind or rock and rolled their way to the start line, some paddled and others were towed by the support boats. The RO set a tight course and set the fleet away with a 20-minute delay on the planned start time.

With the little wind there was most of the fleet struggled to get moving on the reach towards the first mark. The race was led by Mike Izatt in his RS600 showing that even in less than 5 knots of wind the RS600 could sail quickly! Once on the beat to mark 2 Mike Izatt extended his lead followed by G Clark in a Solo, D Renell in an RS Vario and Charlie Baynes in another Solo. The places remained unchanged to the finish of the race which at times saw the fleet come to a complete stop when the light breeze died completely leave rafts of boats on different tacks or gybes drifting on the tide.

Four boats retired finding the conditions too frustrating, but the remainder all manged to complete two laps of the course.

Racing at Leigh on Sea now takes a Winter break until the start of the Spring Series on Saturday 6th April 2019. The next Brass-Monkey Trophy Race will be on Boxing Day (26th Dec) 2019 with a start at 11:15 hoping for more wind next year.

Overall Results:

Pos Class Sail No Helm Crew Club PY Brass Monkey Pts
1st RS 600 951 Mike Izatt King George SC 916 00:54:21 1
2nd SOLO 4801 G Clark Fishers Green SC 1143 01:00:27 2
3rd SOLO 3875 Chas Baynes LSC 1143 01:03:33 3
4th RS VAREO 455 D Renell EYC 1090 01:05:51 4
5th LASER 164993 Chris Boshier TBYC 1098 01:07:24 5
6th LASER 213572 Robin Foster‑Taylor TBYC 1098 01:08:25 6
7th LASER RADIAL 186706 Andrea Stenhouse EYC 1142 01:09:23 7
8th SOLO 3904 Rob Tothill LSC 1143 01:10:39 8
9th LASER 140037 Chris Brooks LSC 1098 01:13:09 9
10th SOLO 4023 Colin Walker LSC 1143 01:14:26 10
11th SOLO 3987 Matt Tothill LSC 1143 01:14:32 11
12th SOLO 3948 Tim Wright LSC 1143 01:14:39 12
13th LASER RADIAL 142204 Dave McKrinik EYC 1142 01:14:42 13
14th RS 200 1189 Phil Dowsett Chris Dowsett LSC 1046 01:14:47 14
15th SOLO 3249 Richard Knight LSC 1143 01:15:06 15
16th LASER RADIAL 192991 Alex Pilgrim EYC 1142 01:15:48 16
17th GP14 14179 Steve Corbet Liz Noblet LSC 1133 01:16:35 17
18th SOLO 3325 John Charles LSC 1143 DNF 22
18th SOLO 3587 Jonathan Moore LSC 1143 DNF 22
18th LASER 1 Robert Manging TBYC 1098 DNF 22
18th SOLO 4067 Tim Grigsby LSC 1143 DNF 22

by Steve Corbet

About YachtBoatNews


Check Also


69th Rolex Giraglia

With just a couple of days left until the start of the ...